Multiple Teams · Fall Sports: First Day of Mandatory Practices/Tryouts Announced


Mandatory practices and/or tryouts for the fall sports season officially kick off next week.

Before a student can participate in practices and/or tryouts, he or she MUST have an updated physical on-file with Holy Name. Physicals are good for one year from the date they are completed. In addition to student-athletes having current physicals, all incoming freshman students (Class of 2022) must turn in a current physical before the start of the school year.

The schedule for the first day of mandatory practices/tryouts is as follows:

Football: Mandatory football practice for all levels begins on Monday, July 30. Freshman players will practice from 3 – 7 p.m. Varsity players will stay until 9 p.m. If you have any questions, contact Coach Wondolowski at dwondolowski@holynamehs.com.

Girls Soccer: Mandatory practice begins Wednesday, August 1 from 7 – 9:30 a.m. If you have any questions, contact Coach Miller at kmiller@holynamehs.com.

Boys Soccer: Mandatory practice begins Wednesday, August 1 from 7 – 8:30 a.m. and then 9:30 – 11:15 a.m. (there is an hour break in-between). If you have any questions, contact Coach Mewhinney at jmewhinney@holynamehs.com.

Volleyball: Mandatory tryouts will be held in the Main Gym on Wednesday, August 1 and Thursday, August 2 from 6 – 8:30 p.m. If you have any questions, contact Coach Green at mgreen@holynamehs.com.

Golf: Mandatory tryouts will be on Friday, August 3 at 7:30 a.m. at Pine Brook Golf Club (11043 Durkee Road, Grafton, OH 44044). Please email Coach Sullivan at tsullivan@holynamehs.com by Wednesday, August 1 if you plan on attending.

Cross Country:To find out the exact start date and time of mandatory practice, contact Coach Knapik at kknapik@holynamehs.com.